Posted by: Genny Colby | September 17, 2010

Domestic Goddess???

I never really thought of this as a title I would strive for, but you know what?  I kind of like it.  Or at least the Goddess part!  So how am I going to achieve this….I have always prided myself on keeping a clean and organized house, though I will admit that having a toddler does add a certain level of chaos and confusion and clutter.  But we try to start and end the day with some level of order.

But what I really wanted to talk about is my quest to become not the next Top Chef (though I do love that show!) but a more creative and diverse cook.  I would say I am a good cook, a solid cook, but one that does not generally stray from what I know or what I grew up eating.  It used to be that if that is what the recipe said, that is what I did…very little variation or tweaks on my own.  In the past few years I have started to tweak things more and more…add this, take this out, change this for something else.  Now I want to expand even more…so my goal is to try one new recipe a week.   And to vary what I am making, keeping in mind that my hubby is a true meat and potato kind of guy.  But he is always willing to be my guinea pig.  I am not striving to be a gourmet cook.  I don’t want to spend hours and hours in the kitchen each day…at least right now.  I want nice, yummy, healthy home cooked meals for my family, that allow us to not to get bored with the menu.  And to challenge myself to move outside of my comfort zone.

So, where am I gong to start?  Well, I am not a fish/seafood eater…other than tuna out of a can with mayo, which I have been told is not really eating seafood/fish!  And while I don’t think I will all of sudden decide I love fish, I am going to try my hand at making a few fish dinners for the hubby who loves fish and for the little girl who I hope will enjoy fish.  So, anyone have a nice, easy recipe for me to try out?  And preferably with a fish that is not to smelly…

Responses

  1. So, it’s funny that I’m commenting on a fish recipe request, but here goes: easy, not too smelly, and delicious (from what I can remember)!

    Salmon Soup
    (from Jeff Smith’s “The Frugal Gourmet Cooks American”)
    Serves 4

    1 quart chicken soup stock (homemade or canned broth)
    1 pound very fresh or smoked salmon, sliced
    1 med yellow onion, peeled and sliced thin
    1/8 tsp pepper
    salt to taste
    1 bunch spinach leaves, well washed and chopped

    Bring everything to a boil except the spinach. Turn the heat down to a simmer and cook, covered, for about 15 minutes. Add the spinach and cook 5 minutes longer.

    Just in time for soup weather! 😉

  2. Well, I think I would find it more odd if you left me a recipe for a pot roast! This sounds yummy (if one likes fish) so once it cools down here and we get into soup weather, I will give it a try.
    thanks!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

