Posted by: Genny Colby | October 26, 2010

Pumpkin…

It used to be I thought of pumpkins and I thought “pumpkin pie” and roasted/salted pumpkin seeds.  Now I think pumpkin and I think of those things, but also gingerbread, iced bars, soup, pumpkin scented play-dough and cookies.  And of course, jack-o-lanterns!

I love love love to bake.  My grandmother was a chef and a baker, about the best there was in my opinion.  My mom is an awesome cook and a great baker.  My sister loves to cook, loves to try out new recipes and loves to get creative.  I enjoy cooking, I am working to expand my horizons and my comfort level in this area.  But my first love in the kitchen is to bake.  And baking is a great way to introduce young children to the kitchen, not to mention all the other lessons they learn (measuring, counting, mixing, etc).  So, each week we try to bake something.  And from scratch…though there are times we do use a mix.

Our latest venture was pumpkin gingerbread.  Oh my was that good!   And it makes the house smell so amazingly wonderful.   So, here is the recipe I used…let me know what you think:

Pumpkin Gingerbread
12 tablespoons melted butter
2 1/2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 tablespoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon salt
1 can pumpkin puree (you could also use 15 oz of fresh pureed pumpkin, but I had the can stuff on hand already)
1 cup white sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
3 eggs
1-Preheat over to 375, grease two loaf pans
2-In large bowl, sift flour, baking powder, ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, and salt.  In separate bowl, whisk together pumpkin, eggs, butter, sugars.  Add flour mixture and stir until combined.
3-Divide batter evenly between loaf pans and bake for 45-50 min.
Responses

  1. That sounds delicious! I think I’m going to have to try that one


Leave a Reply

Categories

