Posted by: Genny Colby | November 24, 2010

Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Oh, how I love this show.  And when I say love, I mean this was “must see” TV in our house, but it was more than that, it was an obsession for me, my first & only real obsession.  If you called Tuesday nights at 7pm, I would not answer the phone.  My mom used to laugh at me and say “you are watching what?”  Until she herself found repeats on FX…and she was hooked!

I will be honest, the reason I wanted to see this show in the beginning is because I had watched Sarah Michelle Gellar on All My Children and so when she left and was cast in Buffy the Vampire Slayer, I wanted to check it out.  After one episode, I was hooked.  And not because of SMG, but because the show was fun, witty, clever, and intelligent.  Because Joss Whedon and those around him knew how to create dialog that moved the story along, developed characters, and treated the audience with respect, all without dragging the flow of the story.

This was a time before DVR and while we could tape Buffy if we had to, I worked very hard to make sure that we were home each week to watch my favorite show.  My wonderful husband supported my love of Buffy, watched every episode with me, and introduced me to the world of online forums.   Though I consulted my hubby about vampire lore, I found that the world Joss had created made more sense and became my view of the genre.  I found an amazing group of friends who shared my love of Buffy (and of Angel).  We even started a weekly viewing party for Buffy, with food, laughter, and discussions about the philosophy of Buffy.  When we reached the series finale of Buffy, we celebrated with dinner, wine, laughter and tears.  Buffy left a big hole in my life…not just on Tuesday nights, but what Buffy stood for, what she taught us, and because after Buffy, most TV just does not measure up anymore.  Not that all TV sucks, just most of it.  And oddly, what doesn’t suck, tends to get cancelled quickly.

And what of the original movie you may ask?  Well, it was not great, but was campy fun, and a good waste of two hours.  But it is not part of the Buffy lore/cannon, and therefore watching it does not draw me in, but I like it for fun.  Even Joss Whedon, who did write the script was not pleased with how the movie turned out: they made it campy, so he elected to do TV, where he could develop stories and characters further.  And we should all be glad that he did…Buffy has influenced so much of our culture, our expectations of  television, and empowered young woman to have a more prominent role in TV and movies.  It was the start of mainstream vampire fascinations, but it also showed innovation and the many different ways to tell a story.  Anyone else believe that musical television (Glee, anyone) would be so popular if not for “Once More With Feeling”?  And who can forget “Hush Hush” one of the creepiest, yet perfect episodes.  Who else would have thought a show could do an entire episode with almost no dialog yet still keep the story moving, the audience engaged and wanting more?

And now they want to remake  Buffy the Vampire Slayer, in movie format, without Joss Whedon.  I guess we should not be surprised….vampires are big right now and Buffy has a fanatic following.  So why not make a new Buffy movie?   Um, because Buffy without Joss Whedon, won’t be the Buffy we all know and love.  Buffy without Josh Whedon won’t have the same dry humor, the same atmosphere, and it runs the risk of being overly campy like the first movie.  Buffy fans don’t just clamor for Buffy, the clamor for Joss Whedon’s Buffy.

There is no script yet, so we have no idea if any of our favorite characters will be a part of this new incarnation.  Will this movie just be a reboot of the original movie, a continuation of the television series, or something completely new?  What would Buffy do without Giles?  How would she navigate without Willow as her base, without Xander’s unique, monoscopic view of the world, and without the looming presence of Angel and Spike?  I am fearing the movie will be less about the TV show and more about the original movie, since I believe Joss Whedon still owns some rights to the TV show.  But if it does take from the TV show, how will it account for Season 8 in the comic medium?  I know, so many questions that are yet to have answers.  But right now, all I see is a large studio, wanting to cash in on the vampire craze, taking something that so many love and tarnishing it just to make money.  They can not destroy the awesomeness that was the Buffy the Vampire Slayer, that can not take away my memories and what it means to me.  Those all still belong to me.  And just because they put Buffy in the title, it won’t make me go to see the movie.

Responses

  1. It could be worse. Uwe Boll could direct it.

  2. I’ve heard people say this is a win/win for Joss, though. Either the movie is great – in which case he gets the kudos for creating a character and a storyline that can thrive without him – or it sucks and it’s proof that they should have brought him in from the beginning because he’s got that magic touch.


Leave a Reply

Categories

