Posted by: Genny Colby | November 25, 2010

Thank you!

One year ago tomorrow (the day after Thanksgiving), my husband and his brother left our home in Wisconsin with the U-haul of all our “important” stuff and headed for Colorado.  It had been a long two months of packing, preparing to move 1000 miles, finding a place to live, putting our house on the market, panic attacks, and family drama.  That day was one of excitement (here we go! no turning back now!), but also of sadness as I knew my time in Wisconsin was coming to an end quickly and there was still lots to do and people to say good bye too.

Our first year in Colorado has been full of so many wonderful adventures.  We have so enjoyed exploring our new home city/state.  There are things I miss about Wisconsin…Woodman’s oddly enough being one of them!  And PDQ’s.  And the lighted holiday trees along the main street through town.  But for everything we miss from Wisconsin, we are finding something new here in Colorado.

As I sit here on Thanksgiving, thinking about all I have to be thankful for and there is a lot, but today I wanted to take the time to say thank you to those who have made this past year not as scary as I thought it would be, but wonderful and exciting.

To my hubby for being patient through my panic attacks.  For making me relax and enjoy the ride.

To my beautiful little girl for reminding me to find the joy in the little things of life.

To my mother for being there to tell me it was all going to be okay when the fear of such big changes got to me.

To my mother- in- law for being there when I needed someone to talk to.

To my father- in- law for being there to help where ever needed.

To my brother-in-law for helping us make the move.

To my other brother-in-law, and both sisters- in- law for being supportive and excited for us.

To of our family members for being excited for us and for their words of encouragement.

To all my old friends (Wisconsin and beyond!) for supporting me and being excited about this big move, even though it was sad to see us go.

And last, but certainly not least,  to all my new Colorado friends for helping to make me feel at home.

I am happy to say, we are home.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Categories

