Posted by: Genny Colby | January 10, 2011

Reading Challenges

I love to read.  It is one of my most favorite past times.  Give me a good book, a comfy chair, a soft blanket to snuggle under, or a patch of sunshine to enjoy and I will be set for a good long time.  I could spend whole weekends devouring one book, or many books.  We read each of the Harry Potter books in one weekend, I read the first three books in the Twilight Saga over 5 days, and the final book in one weekend.    Then we had a baby and all that extra free time to reading went to enjoying time with my daughter, or during those early months-sleeping!  But as we figured out the new dynamic with this little one, I gradually began to find or make time to read a little bit.  Not as much as I used to read, but I was back to being able to lose myself in a good book, and find time to get enough sleep to keep up with my little monkey!  And now that she is 2, I do find that I have more time to read either while she naps or while she is content to play on her own.  Granted, there are many OTHER thins I could be doing during these times, but at least I can find time to sneak back into a good book.

Last year I kept a list of all the book  I read for me.  I had set a goal of 36 books, figuring 3 books a month was a pretty good goal for a full-time stay at home mom to a busy, active, and energetic toddler.  Boy was I surprised to find that I had reached 73 books by the end of the year!  So this year I will set my goal at 80 books, since 36 was obviously way too low and I know my “to read” list is super long.  I want my daughter to see me reading, see me enjoying a good book, so that her love of books continues to grow.   I will keep another list of books I read in 2011 and I am going to try to do a monthly review/recap of what I read here.

We read books everyday with my daughter.  We always read books before nap and before bedtime, but we also read throughout the day.  Some days she loves nothing more than to snuggle in and read book after book after book.  Some days you will find her snuggled in with her stuffed friends reading books to them (this is truly one of my favorite moments to quietly observe her).  And we love to go to the library.   But I never thought of participating in a reading challenge for her until I found this on a friend’s blog.  I followed her link to this blog, There’s a Book, and to the reading challenge for kids and parents!

I thought this would be a wonderful way to celebrate our love of reading and the many books we read each day/week.  It will also encourage me to look for many new books at the library and not just my old favorites!  Because we are still in the stage of wanting to read our favorite books over and over, sometimes needing a bit of encouragement to try a new book, we are going to try for the “growing” level, or 120 new books for the year.  And of course, you will find my reviews of what we read here.

Come join us on our reading challenges, we can share favorite books, and maybe even a story time or two.

Responses

  1. Yay! We’ll have to compare notes . . . I’m glad you are doing this challenge too!

  2. Yay! So happy to have you on board! I’m excited to see what books you read throughout the year and what you think of them. It’s going to be a fantastic year! Sorry for taking so long to get around to everyone, but I’m making it…slowly but surely. :o)


Leave a Reply

Categories

