Posted by: Genny Colby | February 9, 2011

Books, Books, and more Books!

What better way to spend a cold snowy day than snuggled up reading books?  And that is what we have been doing a lot of the past few weeks, so much that I have not had time to post what about what we are reading!  So, I will try to do a few posts to catch up as part of our reading challenge.

Many of you know I used to be a teacher.  I have a degree in Early Childhood Education and spent many years teaching what was truly a 4 year old kindergarten.  My curriculum was literature based.   But because of that, I can be a bit of a book snob.  I closely look at the quality of books and I won’t buy a book, or check it out of the library (since right now I make those choices, not the monkey!) just because it has a favorite character.  Books are supposed to be fun and engaging, but they also must be well written.    Through our story times, my daughter is learning not only to love books, but about language, sentence structure, increasing her vocabulary, and she is developing observation skills as she examines the pictures, just to name a few!

So what have we been reading recently?

Product Details

She received this book as a birthday gift and it has become a bedtime favorite!  The words are simple and the pattern repeats.  Who needs to be tucked in?  “I do” says each animal as you turn the page, then turn a half page to cover up the animal.  My daughter loves this book, not only because she loves to turn pages, but because she loves to say goodnight to each of the animals.  And they are not your “typical” animals of cat, dog, mouse.  But include a hedgehog, peacock, moose, and alligator.  And this book transitions so well to putting her to bed, since then it is her turn to be tucked in.

Puff the Magic Dragon

Growing up with hippie parents, Peter, Paul, and Mary could often be heard in our house.  Lucky for me, this was also the case in my husband’s house, so Puff the Magic can often be heard around our house.  Monkey got a copy of this books, signed by Peter Yarrow, from a family friend and it has become a favorite!!  The pictures are beautifully illustrated to this wonderful song, full of fanciful creatures and friends to make up the world of Honalee.  And I love the illustrations at the end, which add a layer to the song/story that I won’t give away here.  Just goes to show how much the illustrations can add to a story 🙂

Product Details

Oh how I love this story!  The rhythm is so much fun, as well as the fact that it teaches letter names and recognition.  And of course, we have to sing the ABC’s at the end!

Product Details

I was really excited to find this on at the library, since we love the other one so much.  Alas, this one is not as much fun, or as engaging to a toddler.  I just could not find the rhythm of the story and the numbers seemed less playful and fun.

Product Details

I have loved the Madeline books for as long as I can remember.  Something about the rhythm of the stories, and the world he creates for these little girls always just drew me in, and still does to this day.  I was so excited when my mom wanted to get the monkey her first Madeline book, since they were always books I shared with my mom.  These books always made me wish I lived in an old house in Paris that was covered with vines, and takes me back to my childhood and story time with my mom.  I am so happy to share these now with my daughter.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

