Posted by: Genny Colby | July 15, 2011

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

It is hard to believe that it has been 10 years since Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was released in theaters.  And even harder to believe that we have finally reached the end.  Since this is the end of the movies, I decided not to let another midnight release pass me by.    And as luck would have it, one of our local theaters was actually showing a double feature of Deathly Hallows Part 1 and Part 2.   So with an afternoon nap, a large diet coke, and pocket full of tissues I headed off to the theater last night.

As I know many have yet to see the movie, and I really hate when others spoil a movie for me, I am going to try very hard to not discuss any surprises you may find in the movie.  I should disclose that I am a purist, I will almost always say the book is better, and really, the book should be better.  A book you can give so many more rich and detailed supporting characters, subplots, and tangents.  A movie has to create a visual representation of the main themes of the books.  Details, characters, and events are always left out.   So that said, I will admit that on the whole I have really enjoyed the Harry Potter movies.  They have provided such a wonderful visualization of this magical world, brought the characters and locations to life, and given fans just one more way to immerse themselves in the world of Harry Potter, Hogwarts, and magic.

Side story: I once was waiting for a movie, listening to a large group talking.  One male said that he was looking forward to the next Harry Potter movie, but that he only has time to read 1 book a year so he will never actually read any of the Harry Potter books.  I swear, if I had not been 8 months pregnant and sitting on the floor, I would have gone up to him and told him in no uncertain terms to get his ass out of the movie theater and to the library!  One book a year!  I could not believe what I was hearing.  And then, I started to feel sad for him.  He will never know all the details of these books (or any book) and is missing out on so much.  Hopefully he does not procreate and pass that character trait onto the next generation!

I have not always agreed with some of the choices the screen writers made (where was the explanation of who made the Marauder’s Map?  That James, Sirius, and Peter were animagus to help Remus each month?) but on the whole they have provided a wonderful companion to the books.

This final chapter is no different.  The main story threads were all present.  The characters we have come to love (and hate) all had their stories brought to a close.   I still miss Charlie Weasley  But his lack of screen presence does not adversely influence the story.     I found it disappointing that Percy’s separation from the family was never explained, for the past 3 movies he would just appear behind Fudge, and in the final chapter, he just appears at the end with his family to fight Voldemort.  But those are all choices that have to be made to bring a movie together with a running time that people can actually sit through (without an intermission).     It is just one more reason the movies are a wonderful compliment to the books, but in no way replace the books.

But there is still a lot they did get right.  Some of my favorites include when Ron and Hermione finally make the move to connect on that romantic level that has been simmering below the surface for years.  When Harry sees Fred, Remus, and Tonks among the dead.  When Harry uses the Resurrection Stone to see his parents, Sirius and Remus, all of whom give Harry the encouragement and love he needs to face Voldemort for what he is knows is his own death.  And I think finally seeing Snape’s story come full circle was done beautifully.  To see the choices Snape made, why he made them, what he has felt all these years, and to finally get the answer as to how Snape really felt about Harry was so well done and really completed this character, which for the length of the series always was followed by a question mark, where do his loyalties lie?  Why did Dumbledore trust him so completely?

Oh, and I would be remiss if I didn’t say I wanted more Neville Longbottom!  How much Neville has grown, changed, and become such a strong character.

As the books came to end with the publication of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, now so do the movies.  But as with all great stories, they will continue on for many years to come as we read the stories and watch the movies over and over, and introduce these stories to the next generation.

Responses

  1. Just as the last half of Deathly Hallows was my least favorite part of the books, so it goes with the movies. But still, I feel better having the completion wrapping everything up brings (and I have no alternate storylines to suggest, so I must accept what is provided!). I do wish there’d been more on Neville. That might be my biggest complaint about the movies–that they didn’t develop his character more. I understand the picking/choosing of the movie, though. And I will always have the “real” story (the books) in my head. 🙂

    (I feel terribly sorry for the one-book-a-year boy! What a dreadful life! [Is it totally snotty of me to say that?]).


Leave a Reply

Categories

