Posted by: Genny Colby | August 9, 2011

The Best Laid Plans….

A few weeks ago, I left the hubby and our little monkey for 5 days while I went to help my mom.  This was the first time I had been away from our daughter since she was born almost 3 years ago.  I was equal parts excited (I got 5 nights with 8hrs of solid sleep!) and nervous (being a stay at home mom with some control issues….you get the picture).  But I knew deep down they would be fine, they would figure out their own way of getting things done.  And they had a blast!  They went on walks, to different parks, the zoo, played games, read stories, watched movies.

I came home to mostly clean house, though piles of laundry.  So it was with some excitement that I prepared for a few days of single parenting myself while my husband went to help his mom with a few things. **I should note that this was not the first time I have ever been solo with our daughter as my husband has had some travel for work.**  But this time we could really have some true “girls time”.  I had lots planned to do including going to the county fair, to the pool, out for a special lunch, playing in the sprinkler, a day at open gym with a friend, and a hike/picnic with our friends.

But as the saying goes…the best laid plans…On the morning we had to take daddy to the airport, monkey awoke not quite right.  “My tummy hurts mommy so you need to carry me” she said after we got dressed and prepared to make our way downstairs for breakfast.  And then the first round of vomit made its appearance.  Since this was the first time she has ever had a stomach bug that came with vomit, she was understandably quite distressed.  After 2 more rounds (in the car no less) we seemed to be in the clear.

Okay, two quieter days at home, that works.  We can play games, read stories, go for a walk, play in the backyard.  And still make our plans with friends Monday and Tuesday.  Nope…Sunday night it was 11:30…and Monday night it was 3am.

So while daddy got a chance to play, relax, and enjoy his time with out little monkey, I got to clean carpets, do umpteen loads of laundry, and try to teach her to aim for the toilet.  But in the end it is okay,  I did get lots of time snuggling watching movies and about 40 episodes of Phineas and Ferb, and reading books. And I do get time every other day to play and explore the world with her so I really can’t complain too much.

Just wish the urge/need to puke came at 3 in the afternoon instead of 3 in the morning!

Leave a Reply

Categories

