Posted by: Genny Colby | August 16, 2011

Perspective….

It is not a big secret that the hubby and I decided that we wanted to add another little one to our family.  For the past couple of months now we have not done anything to prevent getting pregnant, but due to circumstances (illness, life, travel) our timing has been off and we have not been seriously trying either.  And most of the time, that has been okay with me.  Honestly.

We have a great life, a wonderful little girl who is everything and more than I could hope for, and we are financially in a good place.  I am able to stay home with our daughter, we are able to spoil her they way we always hoped to, and still have the ability to do the fun things we want to do.  I am also really excited to start home schooling for preschool this year with her.  She is so ready to learn and I am excited to get back into the world of teaching, and being able to cater to her interests.  Who knows, if this all goes well, we may even home school past preschool!

So why this month do I feel so down about not being closer to baby number 2?  I don’t know.  Maybe because it was so easy for us the first time, maybe because we have talked about it so much that the waiting/what if game is just not as much fun, maybe because I am starting to feel old.    But what ever the reason, this month it hit me harder than before.

Now I need to put the world into some perspective.  Yes, I could start to stress out and obsess over the idea of getting pregnant.  Or I can sit back, take a few deep breaths, and let things happen as they will.  We have a beautiful little girl, our family is pretty darn close to perfect right now.  Another little one would help make our life perfect, but not having another one does not make our lives any less perfect.    If it is in the cards, we will welcome another little one with all the love and joy in the world.  If not, then we will cherish the family we already have and enjoy everyday together.

 

 

Responses

  1. I think you have a great outlook on the whole thing and the idea that what’s meant to be will be. I’m sure there is another little one out there for you guys. You are awesome parents and your adorable little girl would be an amazing sister. And the whole being able to spoil the kid(s) you have is a huge reason I am done at 2. I can spoil my two. I like being able to do that. Not just with things, but with attention, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

