Posted by: Genny Colby | September 29, 2011

Got Goldfishes?

I love the fishes ’cause they’re so delicious!

Got Goldfishes!

Cheerios and Goldfish crackers.  Those become a staple in your house when your baby starts to transition to solid foods and you can now distract them in a restaurant, store, or anytime with a snack.  And any of you who know my daughter well, know she has a slight Goldfish addiction.  It is her snack of choice, or demand.  I think there are days she would simply exists on Goldfish crackers if I let her.  I even stopped buying them until she eats some other snacks in the house.  Then a good friend MADE cheesy crackers.  And told me how easy they were (and boy were they tasty!).

She shared her recipe, I did a few searches online for other recipes and today our project was making our own cheesy crackers.  What I found is they all have the same basic recipes. The recipe I used for our adventures today

Cheddar Cheese Cracker Recipe
1 Stick of Butter – at room temperature
2 Cups Sharp Cheddar Cheese
1 1/2 Cups All Purpose Flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1. Preheat your oven to 325° and get out your food processor.
2. Throw all of those ingredients into the food processor and pulse until well mixed, about 10 times.
3. Dump the mixture out onto a lightly floured surface and use your hands to bring it together forming a ball of dough.
4. If the consistency allows, roll the dough out into a very thin layer.  Maybe 1/8 inch.  If the dough is too loose to roll, toss it into the fridge for 15 minutes.
5. Once rolled out, cut the crackers.  You can use cookie cutters here if you would like fancy shapes, but I just used a pizza cutter for basic crackers. It’s your call.
6. Place the crackers onto a cookie sheet covered with foil or even better, a Silpat baking mat.
7. Bake for 11 minutes or until the crackers start to get just golden on the edges.
8. Place on a cooling rack until the crackers are no longer warm.

  I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour and mild cheddar instead of sharp cheddar, because that is what I had on hand.  I also did not add the cayenne pepper to ours, since I was not sure how the heat would go over with my little monkey, and I was sure the hubby would say it was spicy enough!

Once we had the dough all set, I rolled it out, thinking how fun it would be for the little monkey to help make the crackers using the mini shape pastry cutters that I had in the pantry.  Nope, she was much more interested in eating blueberries…so it was all mommy this time, which actually turned out okay for a first attempt at a new recipe.

So, how did they turn out?  Really yummy!  I am not sure that they will completely replace Goldfish crackers in our house, given how often she wants Goldfish, but I think we will make them again for snacks and maybe reduce the amount of Goldfish that enter our house!

Leave a Reply

Categories

