Posted by: Genny Colby | January 5, 2012

Neccessary Evil

I am just going to be honest…I really do hate the treadmill.   While finding a good book on my Nook Color helps pass the time, I can’t say it is something I get up in the morning saying “yay!  Today is a treadmill day!!”  Which may explain why I go through phases when I do really well staying in the routine…then fall out of it for one reason or another, and it is a bit of a struggle to get back into the routine.

I know I need to do it, because honestly, it is good for me.  I always feel good when I am done.  But I have to force myself not to watch the countdown clock to tell me how much longer I have to go!  Good thing the Nook sits nicely in front of the screen 🙂  I want to be in better shape than I am now, so that I stay healthy, and I can keep up with my incredibly active 3 year old daughter!  And I want to stay healthy in this pregnancy, in the groove to get back in shape a bit faster after this baby arrives than I did with my first.  But I also want to do it for me, so that I do feel good about myself.  But man, finding the motivation some days is rough.

And I can find any excuse…too tired, have laundry to do, dishwasher needs to be emptied, little one is not napping, I am in the middle of good book, or the time drain of them all…FACEBOOK!  So what I need to do is just get in the habit and do it.  Then not let myself get out of the habit.  Easier said than done, but I think loading up my Nook with all kinds of books I am just dying to read may help.  So will not shoot the hubby ice daggers every time he says “so, you going to go work out now?”  And who knows, maybe at some point I will even stop watching the countdown clock and be surprised when my cool down period starts!

Leave a Reply

Categories

