Posted by: Genny Colby | October 1, 2012

Giving up…on some books!

I got to thinking after reading the blog post over at Once Upon a Twilight about books/series that I have given up on or just pushed myself through.  It takes a lot for me to stop reading a book series, as I feel like once I have started it…I should see how it all ends, but there have been a few.  And I almost NEVER put a book down without finishing it, since once I start, I feel I should at least get to the end!

But like I said…there have been a few and I thought I would take a look back at some of them and why I stopped/gave up on them. So, in no particular order…

Tunnels by Rodrick Gordon and Brian Williams-started out as an interesting concept, but the second book just sucked the life out of me.  I could not even finish the book and had to skim through the rest.  I lost all connection to the characters and realized I just did not care.  Bummer too, since it had an interesting concept and was being called “the next Harry Potter”.

Women of the Otherworld by Kelley Armstrong-I loved this series when it first started!  I devoured the books, so did the hubby!  But then the series started to veer off into minor characters mentioned in passing.  The world got a bit too big and convoluted and I just could not seem to stay with the stories.  Bummer since I LOVED it to start. I still have a few of the books sitting unread on my shelves/on the Nook, so hopefully I will get back to reading them again one day.

Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon-I LOVED the first book and was so excited to see what else was in store for these characters.  But the second book gets a big bogged down in the politics of the time and makes it hard to get through.  I want to get through it, as I really do enjoy these characters and I would like to know what happens to them all so I know once my to read list slows down a little bit (HA!) I will make my way back to these books.

Fifty Shades by EL James-I read this one because it was the “it” book…but I could barely make it through the first one.  Writing was incredibly amateurishess and there was no character development and no real story.  This is one I will NOT be going back to finish. I have many other ways to spend my time…including cleaning the bathroom.

Millennium by Stieg Larson – I enjoyed the first book when we read it for book club.  But as with most things, time is of the essence.  These are not short books nor are they quick or easy reads.  And I kind of have to be in the right mood for these books.

House of Night by PC Cast and Kristin Cast-A light, easy but fun read when it first started…then the books started to drag out and it seemed like they were more interested in writing a book for sale instead of actually creating a story worth reading.  I just couldn’t and won’t keep going with this one.

Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine.  A slightly implausible concept, but one that was kind of fun in the beginning.  Then it just became tedious because how many times can the same scenarios be presented before they all blend together?  And it got harder and harder to believe in any of the characters, so I guess I am just done with this one unless I need something to fill my time and I have nothing else to read.

What books or series have you just decided is not worth your time?  Or what have you been reading that is worth the time and should be added to my “to read” list?

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

Categories

