Posted by: Genny Colby | November 8, 2012

Trying Something New…

One of my goals for 2012 was to continue to try one new recipe per week. With a pregnancy and a new baby, I will admit that we didn’t always try a new recipe once a week, and we have fallen into our pattern of eating out more than I would like to admit. Although I do love going out to eat so it is hard for me to say “no” when the hubby says “let’s grab something out”. But we are both in agreement that eating at home is easier, cheaper, and healthier and we need to work on eating in more.

I am not always the most adventurous in my cooking, I used to follow a recipe to the letter. In recent years I have become much more comfortable in tweaking recipes, expanding my comfort zone, and really enjoying trying something new. Part of this comes from the fact that I love to have my daughter help cook, and she loves to help cook. And I want her to eat a wide variety of foods, even if there are times when we fall back on our tried and true menus.

As we move into colder weather, we will be using the crock pot a lot more. I am trying to make Monday and Wednesday either crock pot or left over day as those are karate class nights for monkey and daddy. And what I really want to do is give making bread, rolls, etc from scratch. I know…it is not that hard! Or so I have been told. And homemade dinner rolls are so yummy…so that is my next new food adventure.

This weekend is going to be cool and we finally have a weekend that is going to be fairly quiet. So…Sunday I am going to give making dinner rolls my first go round. Any good, easy recipes dear readers that you have tried and loved? And are not to intimidating to a new bread baker? And that I don’t need anything fancier that my mix maker to make?

Leave a Reply

Categories

