Posted by: Genny Colby | January 3, 2013

Reading Challenge 2013

I love to read.  Always have.  Safe to bet I always will.  I started reading when I was about 5 and never looked back.  I will read most anything, though heavy science based books tend to make my mind go wonky and I don’t stick with them very well.  My sister on the other hand, well, she reads books on string theory for fun!  But we both love sci-fi so there is still some common ground!  I tend to read more fiction, though I am finding myself drawn to more books on homeschooling, parenting, and memoirs.  I am also finding myself drawn to more “epic” books or series.

I am member of Goodreads.  A great site to track the books you have read and those you want to read.  You can share books with friends, connect with authors, and be a part of an online community devoted to books.  The one down side is that my to read list is growing every day and I am sure I will never get to the end of it…as I keep adding more, faster than I can read books!

I used to be able to finish a book, maybe two, in a weekend.  Heck, we read all the Harry Potter books in one weekend (it took the whole weekend the first time because we would read them aloud as we couldn’t decide who would get to read the book first otherwise!).  Then we had a baby and I think in the first six months I read about 3 books and they were romance novels-nothing that required a lot of brain power, could handle on a sleep deprived brain, and should go pretty fast!  Then we got into a groove and things settled down and I was able to read more.  Maybe not at the same level I did before kids, but more along the lines of a book a week or so.  Then we had baby #2 and I have even less time for reading now.  I have been working on the same book for almost a month now.  And not for lack of interest or desire, but for lack of time, brain function, and the decision that sleep is a required part of my life.  But things will get better…if he ever learns to nap.  Or at least that is my idea….

But this year I am setting a goal of books to read…because I can I guess.  I would love to say I would read 75 books, but I know that is  unreachable, at least this year.  So I set a goal of 35 books.  This averages about 3 books a month.  This may still be slightly out of reach, unless I count the chapter books we read with the little girl…but I am optimistic.  I guess I am hoping when we hit the mid year mark things will pick up as the little dragon will be a year (gasp!) and hopefully we will finally get on a nap schedule that will allow me a little time each day for me.  But by then the monkey will be 4 1/2 and our school time may be best served during his nap time…  Anyway, I set the goal and I am hopeful I will make it, maybe even pass it!

I am going to track what I read here, probably Fridays with a quick recap of what I have been reading, what I hope to read that weekend, etc.  Goes along with my goal of blogging more!  I am always on the look out for a new book or series, so if you ever have any suggestions, please don’t hesitate to share!

Ready…Set…Read!

Leave a Reply

Categories

