Posted by: Genny Colby | January 18, 2013

What I am Reading Friday…

Well, this has been a bit of a slow week for me, reading wise.  But I also decided to start The Twelve by Justin Cronin along with reading Yes, Chef by Marcus Samuelson.   I decided to go for two books partly because I just couldn’t wait to start The Twelve and because that one is on my Nook and I needed a book I could easily read while feeding/rocking one sleepy little boy.

I am really enjoying Yes, Chef.  It is an interesting, behind the scenes, personal look at what it really takes to become a renowned, respected, master Chef.  I knew it was a lot of hard work, little pay, and crappy hours, but to see the friendships that develop, how you take these difficult situations and use them in your cooking is really very interesting.  I know I could never sacrifice all that really needs to be in order to achieve such a level.  Guess I will just have to settle for watching Top Chef, Iron Chef America, and Chopped!

The Twelve has also hooked me in from the start again.  This book opens up right after the virals have escaped containment.  It shows the other side of the story..not what happened to Amy, but what happened to the rest of the world.  Can’t wait to devout some more time to this one!

My to read list is long and I have a few books coming up at the library, a stack on my nightstand, and a full list on my Nook.  I love that feeling…now I just have to stop adding more books to these lists!  Ha, like that would ever happen!

Happy Reading!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

