Posted by: Genny Colby | January 25, 2013

What I am Reading Friday!

I finished Yes, Chef by Marcus Samuelson this week.  I honestly really enjoyed this book.  I found his journey from a poor village in Ethiopia to a Master Chef enjoyable.  The story moved a nice pace, it was told as a narrative, as if you were sitting with him, talking about how be came to be where he was in life.  It had a nice flow, it told enough about the different stages of his life that you saw the journey, but it did not stall or focus too heavily in one area or another.  It seemed that he was also trying to respect the privacy of those in his life by mentioning them, but not giving too many personal details.  I really found his descriptions of the different kitchens, the different chefs he has worked with intriguing.  It really is a whole other world in the kitchen!  And I learned a few things about cooking, about how restaurants work, and about one of my favorite chefs.  Now just to get a chance to actually taste some of his food!

And I am still working on The Twelve by Justin Cronin.  This slow going is NOT for lack of interest, but rather just lack of time to devote to reading.  With an active 4-year-old and a now mobile 7 month old…time is so limited!  I could of course give up sleep and that just may happen again!  But it is on my NOOK so I can at least carry it with me where ever I go and try to find a few moments to sneak in a few more pages!  It is such an interesting story that I just want to get into it and not have to leave until I am done.

I also picked up a new book at the library which I am going to have to kick  my butt to read before it is due, as there is a wait list and I won’t be able to renew it.  Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi is the second in her Under the Never Sky series, another young adult/dystopian future.  After a series of events that leave the world uninhabitable, or so they are told, “dwellers” now live in domed societies.  There are people who live out in the world, but they are mostly thought of as a myth by the dwellers.  Banishment to the outside is a the most severe of punishments and used to keep those in the domes under control.  Until one day when Aria is banished and she discovers a whole world outside the dome, as well as love.  It is not an easy life, those outside do not trust the dwellers, and the journey to find her way to herself, her love, and to change the world is not easy.  I am excited to dive back into this world as well!

I also have about 3 other blog posts in the works..hopefully I can get them finished up in the not so distant future, but until then, Happy Reading!

 

 

The Twelve (The Passage, #2)

Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky, #2)

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

