Posted by: Genny Colby | January 27, 2013

They are doing WHAT to my eyes?

After 25 years of wearing glasses and contacts…I have decided that I am done.  I would like to get up in the morning and be able to see when I wake up.  I would like to go swimming and not have to worry about either losing a contact in the water, or not being able to see my very active, independent 4-year-old as she leaps with great joy  and exuberance (and little fear) into the deep end of the pool.  I would like to be able to take my book when the baby boy needs a nighttime snuggle or bottle and actually be able to see/read the words.  And with a little nudging (okay, a great big shove!) from the hubby…I am taking the leap and having LASIK eye surgery.  This week.  Hey, if you are going to make the decision to do something and they say “your eyes look good, we can do it this week” you might as well go for it.

And honestly, if I have too much time to think about it, I may just back out!  I mean really, I am going to let someone use a laser to lift up the top layer of my eye, reshape my cornea, then put the flap back down again.  When you really think about what they are doing, it is kind of creepy, gross, and freaky.  Good thing they will give me a sedative!  And that the procedure only lasts about 15 minutes for both eyes.  If I can give birth to two children (each taking longer than 15 min!) I should be able to handle this no problem.  As long as I don’t think about what they are doing.

So, hopefully come Friday I will have 20/20 vision (or close to it) and be ready to find some snazzy new sunglasses for summer,  since those are the only ones I will need!

Leave a Reply

Categories

