Posted by: Genny Colby | February 1, 2013

What I am Reading Friday

This week I made good progress on both of my books, The Twelve by Justin Cronin and Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi.  I am still really enjoying both and trying to squeeze even 5 minutes while both kids are happily playing to read.  Maybe if this first tooth ever breaks for the little man I will get more than 5 minutes…

 

The Twelve is quickly approaching the climax of this book.  The second book of a trilogy is often the hardest book.  It is the bridge between the introduction to the story/the characters, and the final climatic conclusion, to which two books have to build.  The second book has to keep the story moving, keep the characters growing, keep each story line progressing, but also not go so fast that the final book feels like a let down.  This book is doing a pretty good job on that task.  Each character is growing, going on their own journey, but again, you can see where they will meet up.  I am still not sure exactly where this story is going, which is good.  That means there are still twists, and turns, and surprises to come!  The one aspect that I am cautious is on the heavier influence of religion on this book.  Since this was a man-made epidemic, yet is quite catastrophic  I can see how the characters are trying to find a reason, trying to find hope, but I would prefer to see the characters find their own resolution, rather than have it be something mystical.  But we shall see.

Through the Ever Night is going well…I am about 1/4 of the way through.  As with most young adult books, it is not a difficult read.  The characters are not overly complex and there are not 20+ sub plots.  Though I will admit it has been some time since I read the first book, so it I am having to take some time to stop and think about each character, figure out what happened first as thing come up in the book.  Overall I am enjoying the story, though this is also the second book in a planned trilogy and this one feels more like a bridge…the story is slower, the characters are progressing less, and there is more “talk” about what happened and what is to come.  But still a fun read with an interesting story line.

So, still in the same books as last week, though I hope to continue to find time to read each day and make more progress this week…maybe even finish one or both of these books!

 

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Categories

