Posted by: Genny Colby | February 8, 2013

What I am Reading Friday

I finished both of my books this week!  How awesome is that?

In the end, The Twelve by Justin Cronin proved more than just a bridge between the first and third books of this trilogy.  It had enough of its own story to be engaging, interesting, and stand alone.  The characters all took twists and turns and changed, setting things up for the final story.  While there seems to be a stronger and stronger religious undertone as the story progresses, it is staying in line with the story and the characters and not getting preachy.  As long as this continues, I am good.  What I love about this series is that yes, it is about “vampires” but it is more a study of human nature.  The desire to find cures.  The desire for long life.  The obsession over power and control (and money).  How and why do people come together?  Survival.  Love.  And what is happiness.

This one took a few twists and turns along the way.  Amy was not a primary figure for the first two-thirds of the book.  Then her journey surprised me the most.  I am very interested to see where her journey is going to take us in the third book.  Everyone had their own journey through this book.  Sometimes together, but for the most part, they were on separate paths.  Then at the end, they all come together.  Which is to be expected, but it did not feel forced.  It was a pretty natural part of the story.

I can’t wait to read the final book in this series.   But it will be hard to wait until 2014!

I also finished Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi.  This was also the second book in a trilogy.  The story is interesting, the characters are interesting, if not predictable and sort of cookie cutter to many YA novels.  This being the second book in the series, it was a bit of a bridge between the first and last book.  While there was a story for this book and was enjoyable, it really was obvious that this was a bridge book.  But I enjoy the story, the world Ms Rossi has created, the characters she has introduced, and the conflict that is developing.  I am interested to find out how this story ends.

And did you hear?  For the 50th anniversary celebrating Doctor Who there will be 11 short stories…one per month, for each of the different Doctors.  So this week I also read A Big Hand for the Doctor by Eoin Colfer.  This first short story about the first doctor.  It was a fun story, one I could imagine the Doctor having.   I am looking forward to reading the remaining books in this series.  Oh, and guess who is writing the adventure for the second Doctor?  One of my fave authors..Mr Michael Scott!

So what I am reading now…since the awesome hubby got me all the Harry Potter books for my NOOK for Christmas, I am making my annual way through the amazing Harry Potter series.  I am currently about half way through Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.  I really do love these books!  And now with my 20/15 vision (thank you LASIK!) I can read in the middle of the night when little man wakes up with teething issues.

And I am also starting this month’s book club Blackberry Winter by Sara Jio.   I just picked this one up at the library today, so I just have it sitting on the night stand, waiting for me to find a few moments to dive right in.

 

Blackberry Winter

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

