Posted by: Genny Colby | February 22, 2013

What I am Reading Friday

A slow week…just had a lot going on, including some carpet cleaning this past weekend, so I didn’t get as much reading done as I would have liked, but I still managed to squeeze in some time!

I decided to just stop reading Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick.  I got about 100 pages in and realized I just didn’t care enough to keep going.  I was tired of the whining of our “heroine”.  Our hero seemed lame, and I just could not muster any enthusiasm for their conflict.  Since my to read list is longer than I can see, I would rather spend my time reading something that I can actually get invested in the characters.    This is a series that feels like it was being drawn out, story stretched to fit for books.  Feels more like a marketing/sales ploy than the author actually having 4 books of story worth to tell.

I finished Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling.  Still the weakest of all 7 books, but a necessary part of the over all story.  And I found more little hints that she dropped in for the overall story.  I LOVE that I can still find things in these books!  How awesome of an author is that can have a series of books that is so well planned that she can drop in clues, hints, etc in book 2 that will tie into the final book?  There are not many that can do that and do that well.  So with this one done, I am moving on to Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.

I am not sure what else I will read next…I like to have one Nook book and one “book book” going at the same time.  Just have not decided what the next book will be….have to peruse my stack!  Or wait for the next book on hold at the library to become available.  I will let you know what I picked next week!

What are you reading this weekend?  Anything new and exciting?  Anything that you would recommend?

Happy reading!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

