Posted by: Genny Colby | March 11, 2013

Gun ownership…mandatory?

How many of you have actually read the Second Amendment?

This is how it reads:

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Now, I am not going to argue about your rights to own a gun or not.  And I am not going to debate the semantics of this amendment.  I think it is pretty clear what was meant when this was written…given the times.  But if it is going to be argued that this gives anyone the right to own ANY type of firearm they want, under the guise of “protection”…then it is also gives me the right to NOT own a weapon.    I don’t own a gun, I don’t plan on owning a gun, and I sure do not want a gun in my house.  But just as it is your right to own a gun, it is my right not to.

With all the exclamations on how gun control, background checks, etc are limiting ones right to bear arms…I wonder why there is so little uproar about the idea of passing laws that either make gun ownership mandatory, or at least STRONGLY recommended.  So it is not okay to take away someone’s right to have a gun, but it is okay to take away the right not to?

Right now there is a small town in Maine that is considering passing just such an ordinance, even though they admit that it would be unenforceable, since state laws prohibit municipalities from legislating on firearms.   The argument that this was proposed to show support of the 2nd Amendment is weak to me.  Really, right now one has the right to own or not firearms.  To make it requirement, even one that is not enforceable is wrong.  Though they do allow exemptions to this rule, the simple fact that it is even on the books is wrong.

There is also a town in Georgia that has recently passed such an ordinance.  You can check out the link below.

I am not pro gun, I don’t think that background checks, ammunition limits, and even limiting the types of guns the everyday homeowner/hunter can own is wrong.  Really, you need 100+ rounds in a semi automatic weapon to defend your home?  But we can save that debate for another day…along with the “Stand your ground” type of laws.

Right now it is time for everyone to take a step back, take a deep breath and READ the 2nd Amendment.  Think about what it means.  Does it mean something different from 200 years ago?  Yes, they never could have imagined the types of weapons we can and do possess today.  If they could have, I would guess that this may have been written differently.  But this is what we have, so we all need to take the emotion of our arguments and look at the facts, the reality, the safety of all citizens.  I won’t argue you can’t or should not have a gun in your home.  You don’t tell me I must have one in mine, or “strongly recommend” that I do.

A Gun for Every Home

Georgia Town Mulls Mandatory Gun Ownership

Leave a Reply

Categories

