Posted by: Genny Colby | April 7, 2013

What I am Reading Friday

Oh, I love the weeks I can look back and say “I finished books!!!”

I am back on a good routine with my treadmill time, even if it is often at 8:30 at night!  At least I am getting the workout in…and reading Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by JK Rowling.  This really is my favorite book in the series, though it is a close tie with Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.  Or any of them really…I just get lost in this amazing world and my treadmill time flies by.  And I don’t want to stop!

The hubby picked up Amber Dusick’s new book,  Parenting: Illustrated with Crappy Pictures for me for my bday.  Have you ever checked out her blog?  It is a must read for any parent!  Really, we can all pretend that being a parent is not the messiest, funniest, most bewildering job out there…but we all know it is a lie.  Ms Dusick takes those experiences that we all have, draws a few “crappy” pictures to go along with them and makes us all realize that not only is it okay to laugh/shake our heads in wonder/request a DNA test to make sure they are really human and not space aliens trying to take over the planet, but that we are not alone!  That we all have days that we question our sanity.  And that it is okay.  Her new book is basically a compilation of blog posts.  It made me laugh out loud so many times!  And nod my head saying “yep, that sounds like my day!”.  Funny part…my daughter who is just starting to read loves to look at the book as well!  She is starting to read the captions with the illustrations.  If you have not checked out her blog or picked up her book, I would highly recommend that you do, because we can all use a good laugh, and the reminder that we are not alone!

I ALSO finished Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare.  This is the third and final book in the Infernal Devices trilogy, which is a prequel to her Mortal Instruments series.  I LOVED this third and final book…and I am super excited at the prospect of another series set in this same time period.  I actually have loved this whole trilogy.  It was so beautiful written, the characters were interesting, engaging, and those that I came to care about what happened.  I wanted them to find, if not a happy ending, at least a satisfactory ending.  And they did.  I am not 100% sure about the epilogue which brings us to more present time in line with the Mortal Instruments series, but I am holding off until the final book in this second trilogy is complete, as I think things are going to start to tie together between the two stories even more.  And now I am going to re-read the whole lot, because I can.  Not like my to read list isn’t a mile and a half long…but hey, I get to read what ever I want now!

As we move into this week I hope to finish my current Harry Potter and get started on the last book…sigh.  It is always with equal parts anticipation as I read the final book and dread as I know that this is the book that it has all been leading up to, the big finale, which is both exciting and sad.  It is always so hard to leave the world of Harry Potter.  At least I know I can return when ever I want to…and I don’t HAVE to read all seven books in a row.  I can just pick one up at random when I need the HP fix.

I also hope to finish City of Glass by Cassandra Clare, which is the first book in the Mortal Instruments series.  And if I have the inclination I will either start Stephanie Meyer’s The Host again or our next book club book…we shall see where time, energy, and interest is this week.

So…what are YOU reading?

Parenting: Illustrated with Crappy Pictures

Leave a Reply

Categories

