Posted by: Genny Colby | April 12, 2013

What I am Reading Friday…

I wish I had more time to read this week, but I focused on some other things and tried to get to bed at reasonable hour…not that this seemed to have much, but hey, I was trying!!  And does finally getting through Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets on Pottermore count as reading?  Since all I really do is go through the chapters looking for the new/additional content by JK Rowling.  I have a lot of thoughts on this site…but I will save those for another post!

I did finish Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince.  I must say, this really is my favorite book in the series.  It is not that it answers a ton of questions, but you really start to see all the pieces coming together.  Harry is finally old enough, mature enough, what ever enough to really understand the big picture.  That this is really more than just about what he lost, what was taken from him, and the true scope of the evil of Voldemort.  I also think he starts to see that world is not quite so black and white.  That it is full of grays, and blues, and purples, and greens.  And he begins to realize that it is now time for him to stand up, take charge of his own destiny, even if it was laid out for him by Voldemort all those many years ago.  Dumbledore really strives to make Harry realize and understand that it is not about destiny, or fate, or even prophecy, but about choices, about love, about friendship, and about trust.  All these lessons start to really come together with the death of Dumbledore, but really as we move into the final book, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.  Which is what I am reading now.

I continued to work my way through City of Bones by Cassandra Clare, the first book in The Mortal Instruments Series.  I do love this series, these characters.  She has created such a unique world, such vivid landscapes and characters that it makes you almost want to take a walk at night and see if you too can’t spot a Shadowhunter or a Fairy.  Though I still think I will avoid the vampires!  I may have to put this one aside for a bit as it is time to start our book club selection for this month The Map of Time by Felix Palma.  Oh, I am excited about this one!!

That in addition to getting the house through spring cleaning, working to start getting our plans in motion for our backyard upgrade this summer, and working on my daughter’s cross stitch project.  I will finish this before her 5th birthday…though I may need one of Hermione’s Time Turners…one of them surly survived the destruction in their flight away from the Death Eaters in the Dept of Mysteries, right?

 

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Categories

