Posted by: Genny Colby | April 15, 2013

Getting Old Sucks…

I have never been much of a runner.  I just never got it when we had to run track in High School.  Always seemed kind of boring to me.  Maybe just because they MADE us do it.  But as I grew up, I realized that maybe it wasn’t all bad.  I always see runners out and about and they generally look like they are really enjoying themselves.  And the idea of just getting out, listening to music or a book, all the good that comes from exercising, started to appeal to me.  So I set a goal to complete a 5k last summer after the birth of our second child, as a way to make time for me and to get back into pre-baby shape.  I started the Couch to 5k Run program, and signed up for the Dirty Girl Mud Run last fall.  While we didn’t run the whole thing, we ran a good portion of it, through the mud and sand and muck and had a BLAST!  And I screwed up my knee.  So I took a little time off, let the swelling go down and then got back on the treadmill, though this time I was just walking and I will admit, I lost my momentum/motivation a little bit and my time on the treadmill was a bit haphazard.  But now I am back on track.  I am shooting for 4-5 times per week of getting my feet moving on the treadmill.  I knew I was going to have to go slow, work  my way back up to running, so I set the pace a brisk walk, added some variable inclines, set the timer, and grabbed my Nook for some reading time on the treadmill.  And I LOVE this time.  I look forward to it each day.  I feel really good when I am done.  But as I have been working on making this time a priority (hard as an active mom of two who is also homeschooling), I have come to realize that getting old sucks.  And it is doubtful I will ever be a runner…unless I want to visit the orthopedic to really look at what is going on with my knee.  It is just wonky.  Something is not right and seems to “catch” in the joint.  But I can live with it, I can still walk, climb stairs, chase after my kids, and enjoy my life.  So I may never be a “runner” but that does not mean I can’t (and won’t) still work to find that time for me to workout…it just means that my goals have to change.  Instead of running a 5k, I may have to settle for walking most, if not, all of it.  But you know what…that is okay.   It is not the goal, but the journey.  And those 45 min I get for me…and the time with a book!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

