Posted by: Genny Colby | May 20, 2013

Buffy…Before Vampires were Sparkly

Did you know that 10 years ago, Buffy Summers saved the world one last time?  (At least on television)  Buffy is, to this day, one more greatest guilty pleasures.  That show still lives on as one of my all time favorites.  There is nothing that has compared to it before and still nothing that does today.  When I first stated watching, my mom used to laugh at me.  I would tell her “Don’t call me on Tuesday nights between 7-8, I won’t answer”.  And she would laugh.  But it was true. I would not answer the phone (and this was way before texting/phones that got email/facebook messaging but even then I would have ignored you if you could have used any of these means too!).

It sounds funny…a blond, high school cheerleader destined to save the world from vampires, monsters, and all creatures who hide under the bed/in the shadows/in the basement.  But Joss Whedon created such amazing characters, connections between the characters, and humor in the face of darkness.  And yes….high school does sometimes seem like hell!

I also found some amazing friends who also shared my obsession and we started weekly Buffy nights.  Girl time, Buffy, and usually snacks.  What could be better?  We laughed, shared ideas, debated who was best for Buffy (Angel vs Spike vs Riley) and cried when it was all over.  For the record…I am a Buffy/Angel fan.  I liked Riley, saw the attraction in Spike, but always knew that Angel had her heart.  We debated the big bad of each season.  Really, Glory was AWESOME right?

Then it was over…and while I may have felt the end of the seventh season felt a little rushed at times, it told Buffy’s story, and that of Willow, Xander, and Giles.  It was a fitting end to an amazing show.  While it does continue in comic books form, which is fun, it is not quite the same.  But at least Buffy still lives on.

And I always have the DVD’s!  They make treadmill time go fast too.  Now that I am done reading Harry Potter, guess I know what will be my distraction for the treadmill now.

I can’t believe it has been 10 years since we first said good-bye.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

