Posted by: Genny Colby | June 21, 2013

What I am Reading Friday

Well, I skipped last week because (and man I hate to admit this…)  I had not really read anything all week!  It has been rough with a little one who has decided that he does not need to sleep through the night again.  I thought we were past that…but I try to remember that in a year when he is off and running and barely looking back to make sure I am still there, that I will miss these quiet snuggle times.

But this week…I finished Stephenie Meyer’s The Host.  Oh, I had forgotten how much I really do enjoy this book!  And it goes to show how a decent author can become even better…with the help if a good editor.  Unlike with her Twilight books, this book has a tighter story, better character development, and  clear path the story is going. I am so excited that she is working on (or rumored to be working on) the second book in this series.  I can’t wait to see what happens as humans and “souls” start to work together in order for the humans to regain control of not only Earth, but the population.  And how it affects the “souls”.  I would also love to learn more about the “souls” and their home planet, their origin as symbiotic organisms.

And I read Daddys Gone a-Hunting by Mary Higgins Clark.  I have to say, I was pretty disappointed in this one.  Yes, her books do become formulaic.  No, they are not often earth shattering or with out of the blue surprises, but still it usually takes me more than 100 pages to figure out the twists and main mystery.    There were so many secondary characters that it felt like a revolving door.  Fire marshals, police detectives, retired detective/now a PI, the main Connolly family of Douglas, Kate, and Hannah, Douglas’s bimbo girlfriend, a homeless war vet, the vet’s family, a disgruntled former employee and his family…and the list goes on and on.

The Connolly family own an antique furniture museum as well as a company that produces reproductions of antiques.  The business is no longer booming and Kate is urging her father to sell the property before they lose any more money.  The book opens up with her meeting the said former employee in the early morning hours to talk about “something”.  A big explosion occurs in the museum, seriously wounding Kate, and killing said employee.  While Kate lies in a hospital bed, in a coma, the question looms “was it an accident?  was the explosion set on purpose?  if so, by who and why?”  Along the way TWO other unsolved murders are connected to this event and of course it all wraps up with a nice neat little ending including two new romances and an upcoming wedding.  WHAT?  It was interesting enough to keep reading but I have never had to suspend such belief for one of her books before.

And now on to Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card.  Rigg is a young man who sees “paths”, trails of light of people, animals, etc that have been in the area before him.  His father is he teacher, a kind man who expects a lot.  When he dies unexpectedly, Rigg is left to find the answers of who he is, where he came from, and who his father is/was and how it all may change the future of the human race.    I want to like this book, I really do.  But it is starting so slow, sort of meandering through the story telling. I just want to say “hurry it up already!  Get to the story!”  I am going to keep plodding along for now…we shall see in a week when my library stack continues to grow if I keep going…

What are you reading this weekend?

Responses

  1. The Wise Man’s Fear by Rothfuss… but it’s different from the first book. Being half way through a 1k book, i’m plodding through hoping it gets back on track LOL.


Leave a Reply

Categories

