Posted by: Genny Colby | January 1, 2014

To Read in 2014

This year I have “challenged” myself to read 65 books.  That is over my “1 book per week” idea, but I think I can do it.  And this year I am not counting the chapter books that I read with the monkey, unless we are reading them aloud as a family.  Finding books to read should not be a problem, as my “to read” list on Goodreads is over 500 books!  But it is hard, because it really is about finding books that grab you, fit your mood, draw you in and don’t let go.

This year I want to branch out more out of my typical reading patterns, I want to read a wider variety of genres, pick up books I may not have in the past, as well as still enjoy my favorite authors and series.  I would love to find a new author or series that just draws me in and I don’t want to let go, that I can’t put down at night.

Currently I am reading Pawn by Aimee Carter, which is okay.  A bit slow and a bit two-dimensional, but I see potential in the series, so I will finish this first one before deciding if I will continue.  I am also reading Lover Eternal by JR Ward.  This is the second book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series.  I am enjoying the book, but it has not gripped me so fully that I can’t put it down…which is a little disappointing as I think I was expecting more of this series based on the rave reviews that I had been given about this series.

So what should I read in 2014?   The following are the books I hope to check off the “to read” list, as I am sure I will add more as the year goes on! But what else should  add to the top of the list this year?  What book(s) have you read recently that stayed with you?

So, from my to read list…this is what I am moving to the top of the page:

Let Them Be Eaten by Bears by Peter Hoffmeister

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi

The White Queen by Phillipa Gregory

The Song of the Quarkbeast by Jasper Fforde

 

I am going to try really hard to get back into the groove of blogging, including “What I am Reading Friday”.  Hopefully we can share ideas of books that are must reads…and those that maybe are best to skip.  Here is to 2014 being a year of awesome discoveries of new books and authors!

Responses

  1. The Book Thief is high on my list.


Leave a Reply

Categories

