Posted by: Genny Colby | January 17, 2014

What I’m Reading Friday…

3 weeks into the new year and I’ve already missed one week, but as much as I hate to admit this…last week I didn’t actually READ anything to write about here.  But this week, I finished 2 books!!!  Having a sick kid who just wants to sit and snuggle led to some extra reading time for this momma.  

The Song of the Quarkbeast (The Chronicles of Kazam, #2)

This week I finished The Song of the Quarkbeast by Jasper Fforde.  I love this man’s writing!  If you have not read his Thursday Next series…stop what you are reading now and go pick it up!  I promise you that you will find yourself drawn into his mixed up world and you won’t want to leave…ever!  But back to this book…this is the second in the series, and his first into the “Young Adult” genre.  

You can a much better description that I can give you here on  Goodreads

I enjoyed this book, but to be honest it was missing the “spark” of his other books.  Honestly, I think this is because he was trying to make his widely imaginative worlds more accessible to a younger reader.  It’s not that he is “dumbing” the books or his stories down, he is still writing with great detail and whimsy, but the book was just lacking some of the depth, some of the humor, some of the layers of his other writing.  I missed that, though it has added all his books back to my “to re-read this year” list!  I will read the third and final book when it comes out this spring, though I will admit that this is not a series I will run back to read again.  Though, as soon as my kids are ready, this is a series that I will bring out for them to read to introduce them to the magical worlds that Mr Fforde creates.  

Hidden (Firelight, #3)

The other book I finished was the third book in the Firelight Series by Sophie Jordan.  This was a series I started on a whim a few years back when I was looking for something different from vampires and were wolves, but still in the paranormal genre.  It is an interesting series dealing with dragons and hunters, or draki as the dragons refer to themselves.  Hidden is the final chapter of the story of Jacinda, a rare fire breathing draki who is forced to bond with the son (Cassian) of her pride’s leader, while falling in love with Will, who turns out to be a Hunter.   In this final book, Jacinda allows herself to be captured in order to rescue Cassian’s sister Miriam.  The capture and rescue occur pretty early in the book and the remaining 3/4’s deal with the tale of getting everyone, including a very dangerous draki who was also in captivity, back to the pride, solving the mystery of what really happened to Jacinda’s father, and Jacinda’s conflicting emotions involving Cassian and Will.  I will say, the story was fairly predictable, there were not really any wild twits and turns, there were story lines that seemed to come in suddenly then are as quickly dropped.  That is not to say I didn’t enjoy the book, but it really did not take a lot of thought or concentration.  The reader, if paying attention, could see where the story was going fairly early, and the big “twist” was not really all that shocking.  It was a satisfying if cookie cutter finale to the series.  Everyone gets their “happily ever after” and the world fades to black…  if you want something light, fun, and not too taxing on the mind, I would say pick this series up.  If you are looking for something thought provoking…this is not the series for you right now.  

So, after finishing two books in one week, what’s next?  I just started Life After Life by Kate Atkinson for our new book club.  I am actually really excited to get into this book.  The reviews have been wonderful and it is making a lot of “you must read this book” kind of lists.  I will say this one is going to take some thought to keep the story line and timelines clear, but I am 30 pages in and I am hooked!  Just can’t read this one when my eyes are already dropping and tired.  

Life After Life

I am thinking that this year is going to be a year for re-reading series that I love.  What is on that list?  Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan,The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, Hyperion by Dan Simmons, and WebMage by Kelly McCullough.

 

What are you reading this week?  Anything I should add to my “to read list”?  

Leave a Reply

Categories

