Posted by: Genny Colby | January 31, 2014

What I am Reading Friday…

ah, I love books, I love to read, and I love when the library sends me a message that says I have books to pick up!

This week I finished Life After Life by Kate Atkinson.  What an interesting book.  Ursula Todd has an unusual life.  As she grows, she dies multiple times, each time her life starts anew and we see the different paths as different choices are made, how does she change the world around her, the people around her, and how do they change her.  By her early teens, after experiencing multiple “deaths” and rebirths, we see that she starts to develop a sense of things to come, to have visions of events and people who have yet to appear in her life and to make changes to try to change certain events.  The book description would have you believe that the fate of the world may in fact rest with this one young woman.  She does, on certain timelines, make may drastic changes to the course of events, but really I found the book less about the effects her choices had on the world at large, and more on how effected her, and those lives she personally touched.

This is not the kind of book you can just pick up one Saturday afternoon and read through in a couple of hours, at least for me and I am a speedy reader!  This is a book that takes time to follow the changing time line, keep track of the characters that come and go through the different time lines, and to really stop and think about what kind of life it must be to have these feelings about things to come and to try to change the course of history/destiny.  It is a very different book from others I have read and while the WWII era is not my favorite, I found this to be a very engaging, thought-provoking, and well written book.  Definitely one I would recommend giving a chance.

This week I started two new books.  One a non-fiction/parenting book, and  the other a fiction/fantasy book.

The first is Raising Freethinkers:A Practical Guide for Parenting Beyond Belief by Dale McGowan, Molleen, Amanda Meskas, and Jan Devor.  As spiritual, but non-religious people, the challenge is how to raise our children to respect others ideas and beliefs, but that it is okay to ask questions, to seek out their own answers, and that find their own beliefs/ideas about the world, and about religion.   We do teach ABOUT religion, but we don’t promote, practice, or enforce a belief in any one religion.  This book is very accessible to any reader.  It takes a “question and answer” approach, where they present a question and then the answer, giving real life examples.  I am finding this book to be very interesting.  As a family who are trying to raise strong, independent, confident, free thinking children, this book seems to be a good fit for our family.

I also started a fiction/fantasy/fun book for reading before bed, when I just want a little escape time.  This week I picked up The Returned by Jason Mott (soon to be a TV series!).  I actually have had this on my to read list for a while, after reading a review somewhere, but with all the info about the TV series coming out, I thought I would see if it was available without a long wait at the library.  An interesting idea…those that have died are returning.  And when they return, they return as they were at the time of their death.  The first family we really meet are an older couple who lost their son in 1966 at the age of eight in a tragic accident.  I am sure there will be others that we will meet as the story progress.  Why have they returned?  Who or what are they? What happens now to our beliefs about life and death?  This is the first of a proposed trilogy, and of course, the base for an upcoming TV series.  Not sure I will check out the TV series as I was so underwhelmed by the offering of Under the Dome this past summer…but so far I am enjoying the book.  I like books that just jump right in and fill you in about what is going on along the way, allowing the reader to connect with the characters rather than just the concept of the first page.

So, what are you reading on this cold, snowy weekend?

photo from –wall-to-wall-books.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

